Florence Window

Haven’t posted for a couple of days. Been busy planning the upcoming year. I have goals I hope to achieve and outlines to write! I’m a planning, list making goal setting type of individual. Onward and forward into 2018 I go.

Have been online a lot these past few days and while looking I came across a painter I really love and read some of his posts. His name is John Lovett, an Australian artist, but his water color and mixed media works are breathtaking. Look him up sometime I know you won’t be disappointed. Anyway he did a group of tiny paintings and did a write up about his approach. I liked the idea of trying this and doing some experimenting with different techniques that you probably wouldn’t try if working large. So I’m starting a grouping of small watercolor/mixed media paintings with no end result in mind just experimenting and being more adventurous.

This first one is a window I photographed in Florence, Italy and I think I may have posted a previous painting of this same subject! Anyway this is a 4 x 6 inch watercolor and gouache painting. I got a new rigger yesterday and oh what a difference that makes! The dark lines added at the end were all done with it and not with ink. I am really happy with this little experiment today. I drew another one to paint from the Florence pictures which I will paint next using a similar technique as this one.

20171229 drawing insert

This is a portion of the Ponte Vecchio bridge which I also have painted and posted in the past. Completed painting to follow.

I’ve been blogging here for 7 months already and do enjoy sharing my passion even though I have few, if any followers. One of my 2018 goals is to find ways to draw people to my blog and I’m building an Etsy store dedicated to my art interest. My hope is to offer my art as originals and prints. You never know what people like unless you put it out there and try!

Until next time… find your passion and put a plan together for the coming year and see what happens when you follow it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.