Acrylic Under Painting

This was my attempt at working with acrylics today. Used a gesso covered piece of watercolor paper since I was just experimenting. Used a reference travel photo of a garden from our spring trip to the UK. Not looking as I imagined so decided it will be an under painting for a future oil painting. I will use my water soluble oils and add some finer details and hopefully it will be salvageable.

Used a plastic shallow container with a wet shammie under a piece of parchment paper as my palette. The paints did stay moist for a longer period of time for working. I know my acrylics are student grade and they are tubes so not the best medium to be experimenting with if I want better results. I’ll see what happens when oils are introduced over this under painting.

I did a couple of soft pastel paintings while in the “studio” today also. I really like working with them and like what can be achieved using them. Future posts probably.

Until next time….remember to stop and smell the roses.

Leave a Reply

